I’m not saying I’m lazy, but….

I’ve been a little more motivated this time to lose weight.  I’ve been a member of SparkPeople for quite a few years now but I’ve never really been all that motivated to make a change.  This time, I’ve been working on it for about a month or so.  I know that if I had to change my eating habits too drastically I’d never stick with it, so I’ve changed enough so that I lose 1-2 lbs a week.  Closer to the 1 lb than the 2.  It’s slow going this way but I’m making healthy changes in a way that I can continue.

Before I go any farther, SparkPeople is a weight loss site that is FREE.  There you can find support groups, diet and exercise help, and the online tools you need to track it all.  Did I mention FREE?   There are extras that they do sell — cookbooks, exercise videos, etc. — but it’s all extra.  You don’t need any of it to feel like a part of the community.

Anyway, since I’ve been logging into SparkPeople every day and diligently entering all the food I eat and my exercise, I decided to take this one step further.  I purchased the Spark Activity Tracker.  It’s a pedometer type device that automatically uploads the information to SparkPeople.

In the past on the days I didn’t actually feel like doing exercise, if I had a good number of steps recorded on my pedometer app on my phone over the course of the day, I would count them as my workout.  That’s really cheating since 30 minutes of walking 2.7 mph is way different when you do it in one chunk or if you do it over the course of 8 hours.  *sheepish grin*

Now with the Spark Activity Tracker (SAT) I’m screwed.  It keeps track of my steps so that they get automatically uploaded to SparkPeople via wifi BUT it also knows that I didn’t do my steps in a work out of 10 minutes or more.  So now I actually have to do a workout to be able to count activity as a workout.  *sigh*  It’ll keep me honest but it undermines my inner sloth.

I received my SAT yesterday.  So today was my first full day with it.  I reached my goal of 6000 steps but I wanted all the lights on the SAT to light up so I knew I had to do at least 10 minutes of the Death Machine or Recumbent Bike.  So I did.  I was rewarded with this:  150322Spark

WOOHOO.  As crazy as it sounds, I’m motivated to work out so I can see all the lights lit.  That can’t be a bad thing.

One response to “I’m not saying I’m lazy, but….

Leave a Reply

