Cooking Light Diet Continues

I’ve had pretty good luck with the Cooking Light Diet.  For the most part, the recipes are easy to make and actually quite tasty.  Tonight was no exception.  I made Weeknight Lemon Chicken Skillet Supper.  What could be easier than an almost one skillet meal?  I say almost because you do have to boil some red potatoes prior to putting them in the skillet.  Other than that it’s only the one skillet.  Reading the reviews on the website, most of the reviews were about the sauce being thin, which it was, and the sauce being a bit bland.  I can’t really argue with either one of those points but both are very easy to rectify.

One thing I did differently from the very start was that I chose to use broccoli instead of green beans.  As many of you know, I hate green beans with such a passion that I swear they are Satan’s second favorite vegetable — the first being Brussels sprouts.

Here is my mise en place:

150317LemonChickenSkilletDinnerMEP

While the potatoes boiled, I browned the chicken on the stove top and then moved to the skillet to the oven to continue cooking.  (As you may be able to tell I used chicken breasts instead of the boneless skinless chicken thighs the recipe called for.  As a result, the chicken did over cook a bit and next time I would definitely use the chicken thighs.)

150317chicken

Next up I sautéed the mushrooms and potatoes together to get a nice browning on both.

150317potatoes

Finally, it was time to marry everything in the skillet on the stove top.  Lemons, potatoes, mushrooms, chicken, chicken broth, and a slurry of milk and flour simmered for about 10 minutes and then it was time to eat.

150317LemonChickenSkilletDinner.

If you don’t like a lot of lemon, you may want to cut back on the amount of lemon they tell you to put in the sauce.  We actually like a good tart lemon flavor.  Similarly if you prefer a spicy sauce, I bet this recipe would take well to an addition of red pepper flakes.  I will probably do that next time since we do tend to like our foods spicy.

All in all, it was a very good start.  I do think I would prefer a thicker sauce and I would probably add the red pepper flakes.

I definitely would rate this recipe as Good and with a couple of tweaks I think it could get a rating of Excellent.

2 responses to “Cooking Light Diet Continues

  • JS

    Don’t do it! I got an email offer from Cooking Light Diet and, in good faith, filled out the subscription information including my credit card information and when I clicked to process the information I got an error message stating that my “payment could not be processed at this time. Your credit card was not charged. Please try again.” So I tried again and got the same message. Guess what? I got charged TWICE on my credit card by Cooking Light Diet and when I try to log in to the Cooking Light Diet website with the user name and password I signed up with, it tells me I am not subscribed. DO NOT BOTHER with Cooking Light Diet. Beware of them.

    • twiggyann

      I’ve been a member since the very beginning and haven’t had any problems. They have a phone number you can call and talk to someone and explain your issue and I’m sure you’ll get it taken care of.

Leave a Reply

