On the Road to Weight Loss

A couple years ago Jody and I bought an elliptical trainer used from one of his coworkers. It worked well enough, but my pet name for elliptical trainers has always been “death machine.” As you may guess, I’m not a fan. But Jody liked it and used it every other day and I was just more comfortable doing work-outs from OnDemand.

Sooner or later, though, the Death Machine started to sound like it was on death’s door itself. HORRIBLE squeaking. Finally it got so bad that even Jody wouldn’t use it — for which I was thankful because I sleep in the room next door and that screeching was hard to sleep through. The Death Machine became a place to, literally, hang your hat.

So a couple weeks ago, Groupon had a pretty good deal on a Hybrid Trainer. It was half recumbent bike and half Death Machine. It was a price we just couldn’t turn down — and it helped that I got 6% back through Ebates.  Man, I love Ebates! My plan, which so far I’ve followed, is to use the machine 3-4 times a week and to do some sort of weight training, probably kettle bells twice a week.

I grew up on the upper side of a “healthy” weight. I was never overweight as a child but I also wasn’t skinny. Then I got married, got divorced, and lost about 30 pounds in 30 days (not something I would recommend) when I was about 23 then I gained a bit of weight and I stayed about 108 pounds from about age 23 until about 43. Then I quit smoking. Need I say more? I quit smoking on August 1, 2007 – using the book The Easy Way to Quit Smoking by Alan Carr — and I gained weight. Then I gained a little bit more weight. Then a little more. And some more. Etc., etc., etc.

So here I am in February 2015 and I’m knocking on the door of 190 pounds after spending my entire adult life underweight. So I’m faced with the prospect of having to diet. Despite the fact that I quit smoking cold turkey using Alan Carr’s book, I have no willpower. How I made it through quitting smoking I have no clue. I guess I was just ready.

Over the past couple of years, I’ve half-heartedly attempted to watch what I eat, count calories, and lose weight with absolutely no success. My husband and I decided that, while we aren’t the best at “eating right” we generally do eat healthily. I cook just about everything from scratch. More than anything else our problem comes in when we consider portion size.

I can’t blame McDonald’s. I don’t want to blame fast food restaurants. Eating at them certainly didn’t help my waistline, but no one had a gun to my head. My love for McDonald’s and my overly generous portions at home of pasta, especially with cream sauces, helped me along.

I’ve tried Weight Watchers and I love that. But I didn’t exactly stay within the proper portion sizes so it didn’t really work for me.

So starting Monday I’m going on a test run of Nutrisystem. I bought two 5-day boxes of Nutrisystem meals at Walmart. So for five days I’m going to eat as Nutrisystem says I should. Then I’ll have the weekend during which I hope I will make good food choices and then another five days of Nutrisystem meals. This is my way trying it out. I’ve read a lot of reviews and I honestly don’t know who to believe. Some people raved that the food is great and others that it was horrible. You and I will find out together. Most of all I’m hoping to get a better grasp on the proper portion sizes. I know philosophically what they should look like but I want to live them.

If the food is good, or even not horrible, I’ll probably sign up for a couple months of the real thing. If it’s not good, I’m going to take away what I learned about portion sizes and about the composition of meals and try to do my own version of Nutrisystem with frozen meals by SmartOnes, Lean Cuisine, and Healthy Choice to reinforce the proper portion sizes while eating something that palatable.

So for the next two weeks you’ll probably hear a lot more about Nutrisystem that you really care to. I’m hoping that I can add to the information that’s out there about the quality of the food. I did a lot of googling and there were pages that claimed to be neutral but were obviously advertisements for Nutrisystem and there were those that claimed to be neutral but were obviously advertisements for Nutrisystem’s competitors. There are also some websites that seemed really honest but the data was from eight years ago or more.

I’m falling on the sword for all of us so please wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

