Cream of Chicken & Vegetable Soup for Two

You may have noticed that I have a very high regard for America’s Test Kitchen’s recipes.  I found some that weren’t my favorite, but they were still good.  Another magazine that I find usually has very good recipes is Cuisine at Home.  I don’t cook as many of their recipes as I do ATK, but similarly, I’ve never found anything of theirs that is bad.

This past week at the grocery store I saw Cuisine Tonight: Thinner Dinners for Two.  Basically it is a collection of 84 recipes that are sized for two people and are lower in calories than “regular” versions.  Absolutely perfect for us!

So I decided to try their Cream of Chicken and Vegetable Soup.  What was interesting, I thought, about this recipe is that it called for smoked paprika.  The smoked paprika gave it a really nice taste that you wouldn’t necessarily equate with a vegetable soup.

Also with the soup I made homemade rolls to make turkey burgers out of.  That’s a different blog post, though.  The picture I have included with this blog post is from the magazine.  We all should know by now that I’m terrible at remembering to take pictures before I devour my meal.

20150207_234216

Cream of Chicken and Vegetable Soup

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast about 8 ounces
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup each diced onion, carrot and celery
  • 1/2 teaspoon each minced fresh garlic, kosher salt, smoked paprika, and black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon each dried dill weed and dried thyme
  • 1 1/2 cups 2% milk
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup frozen broccoli florets, quartered

Simmer the chicken breast in 1 cup of water in a 2 1/2 to 3 quart pot for about 15 minutes or until the chicken breast is cooked through.  Remove the chicken from the broth and put it on a plate to cool.  When the chicken is cool enough to touch, shred it with two forks..

In the same water that you boiled the chicken, add the broth, onion, carrot, celery, garlic, salt, paprika, pepper, dill, and thyme over high heat.  Bring to a boil and then simmer over medium low heat for 15 minutes.  Once you turn the heat to a simmer, add back in the chicken that you have now shredded.

In a measuring cup whisk the cornstarch into the milk.  Stir the milk/cornstarch mixture into the soup.  Add the frozen broccoli and simmer for about 10 more minutes.

Remove from heat and let stand for about five minutes before serving. Garnish with parsley.

According to the magazine this makes approximately 3 cups of soup which is two servings.  However, since we had a sandwich with it we opted to have only one cup of soup each so for us it made three servings.

As written, assuming two servings, each serving is 287 cal, 7 g total fat, 77 mg cholesterol, 711 mg sodium, 24 g carbs, 3 g fiber, and 32 g protein

I would definitely make this recipe again.  I might use a little bit more cornstarch next time just to make it a little thicker.  I did use 1% milk instead of 2% milk but I don’t think that made much of a difference in the thickness of the broth.  All in all it was a very good soup.

.

Leave a Reply

