Wok Wednesday!

I belong to a group online called Wok Wednesdays which is a group of people who like to stirfry and are working their way through the book Stir-Frying to the Sky’s Edge, by Grace Young. It is a great book, look for it at your local bookseller or here is a link on Amazon.  it is also available for the Kindle and the Nook.

To be honest, I’m the new member of the group and this is the first recipe I’ve cooked along with the group but I have had this book for a while. I’ve always had a really hard time with Chinese food. It turns out what I’ve been doing wrong is overfilling the  wok. And this book has helped me with that.

This week’s recipe was Chinese Indian Chicken Manchurian. The author tells us that she got this recipe from the Cantonese chefs at a restaurant in New York City. The family of the owner of Chinese Mirch restaurant also own Chinese restaurants in India. This recipe is of the type you would find in India in a Chinese restaurant.

Chinese Indian Chicken Manchurian

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs cut into 1/4 inch bite-size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons egg white, lightly beaten
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of cornstarch
  • 2 teaspoons of mashed garlic +1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 3 teaspoons minced ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons peanut vegetable oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup chopped onions
  • 1-2 Thai chilies cut into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon chopped green onions

The best way to get a really good result from this recipe is to run out to buy this book. Ms.  Young gives specific directions that really makes all the difference in the world to the success of this dish. I’m afraid that I can’t just copy  her directions because that would be a copyright violation and I’m not going to do that. I could put the instructions in my own words but then you would feel that you were getting the complete recipe and if I didn’t tell you something exactly right and the dish didn’t come out well then y you’d blame her. And I don’t want that either. So what I’m going to do is I’m going to give you just an overview. Please do get the book and try this recipe you won’t be disappointed.

20150114_160946

As with any Chinese food lover, I first spent a few moments gazing at the wonderful patina I am developing on my  wok.

20150114_161338

Then I mixed the cornstarch, garlic, ginger, some of the oil, and some water, poured it over my chicken mixed well and then stored in the refrigerator for about half an hour.

20150114_161343 20150114_161349

Next I started by stir frying my chilies and my onions, added the garlic and cilantro.  Added the chicken and stir fried until it was almost done. Then I swirled in my sauce ingredients and finished cooking the chicken through.

Finally, I served it over steamed rice.

20150114_162056unfortunately, I didn’t have any green onions to garnish the dish with. It would’ve been so much prettier if I had.

This is a really good, spicy chicken stir-fry. I think that if I had added some broccoli or some other vegetable it would have just pushed it over the top. I definitely recommend the book and this recipe, and in particular.

Leave a Reply

