Tortellini at Chez Maple

Ah… I made sure I took pictures while making supper tonight all so I could share them with you, dear readers.  My computer had different ideas .about that,  though.  You will soon see what I mean.

Tonight I decided to make tortellini for supper. I keep trying to find new things to make for Monday’s supper since I’ve been doing Meatless Monday and Jody (the husband) just doesn’t think that dinner is a dinner without meat. I went all out tonight. I decided to make cheese tortelliniin a cream sauce, both from scratch. Who could say that that isn’t a full meal just because there is no meat? I’ll tell you who! Jody.

Anyway, first I made the pasta dough. It was simply 3 cups of flour, two large eggs, a teaspoon of salt, and 2 tablespoons of water. I used my KitchenAid pasta roller attachment and rolled out sheets of pasta to the number six setting on the rollers.

Next I cut them into 2 inch squares.

IMG_0157 I swear I really did take a picture of this. However, the picture has disappeared into the recesses of space.

Next I made up some tortellini filling using 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese  1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, 2 tablespoons chopped spinach (I used frozen spinach, thawed it and squeezed it to remove excess water), one egg, a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg, and 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper.  After mixing up the filling I put it in a Ziploc bag and snipped off the cornersaid that I could use the bag as a pastry bag.

IMG_0158I put about a quarter teaspoon of filling on each one of the pasta squares.  See previous comment about picture taking.

20150105_161555Finally I shaped them into tortellini.  See? I really did make them. I have seen prettier tortellini but these made me happy.

My next task was to make the sauce. I decided tortellini I wanted a tomato-cream sauce.

Tomato Cream Sauce for Tortellini

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • one 14 1/2 ounce can of diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 10 ounces frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  1. In a large skillet, sauté the onion in oil until it’s tender.   Add garlic; cook 1 min. Add the tomatoes, spinach, basil, salt, and pepper. Cook and stir over medium heat until the liquid is absorbed, about 3 min.
  2. Stir in the cream and Parmesan cheese. Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat and simmer for 8 to 10 min. or until thickened.
  3. Meanwhile cook your tortellini according to package instructions or 3 to 5 min. for freshly made tortellini and toss with sauce.

20150105_165649

It was super yummy. My husband, Jody, would’ve preferred it with chicken. He was born and raised in Kansas where a meal isn’t a meal if it doesn’t have meat.

Leave a Reply

