Another year already??

I guess my mom was right.  The years do go by faster when you’re older.  I can’t believe it’s 2015 already.

I’m not going to tell you about my New Years Eve trip to Los Angeles and running into movie stars AND getting invited to party with them.  I’m also not going to mention how FUN it was.  I’m not going to tell you about it because I don’t want to get you jealous and, frankly, because it’s nowhere near true.

bakedpotatototsWhat we did do was drive down to West Hartford, Connecticut, to go to The Cheesecake Factory for a late lunch/early supper. There I discovered the Loaded Baked Potato Tot.  It’s on the Small Plates section of the menu.  I ordered it for an appetizer and … OH EM GEE!!!  Delicious.

It’s a good sized plate for being a small plate.  I wasn’t sure if they’d be like Tater Tots or not, but I’ve never met a potato I didn’t like.  These were divine.  They are smooth, creamy mashed potatoes with bacon, green onions and cheese mixed in.  Then they were rolled into balls, breaded and deep fried.  Served with a side of sour cream.

I’m in love!

After eating we went home and spent the evening watching a hockey game (me) and reading (him) then after the game we watched a few episodes of Breaking Bad until it was time for the ball to drop.  Yep, it was ALMOST as exciting as going to LA and partying with movie stars.  hehehehe

20150101_175029

I made pot roast for supper tonight with my pressure cooker.  It turned out super tasty but a bit dry.  I think I must have over cooked it.  I used the America’s Test Kitchen recipe for Pot Roast with Potatoes from their cookbook Pressure Cooker Perfection  (the link goes to the page on Amazon.com about the book) but I did change it up a little and considering my success rate with their recipes in the past, I can only think that the problem was mine, not their recipe.

Their recipe called for small whole potatoes to be cooked along with the roast from the beginning.  Since I didn’t have small potatoes I chose to add the the potatoes, carrots and celery at the end of the cooking time of the roast, bring it back up to pressure and then cook for another 4 minutes before letting it release pressure normally.  The result was a super tasty broth, yummy veggies, but unfortunately, the meat was a bit over done.

I’m just now learning to cook with a pressure cooker.  It’s been a fun learning experience but there have been missteps.

Leave a Reply

