I’ve been craving …. SOMETHING

I’ve been craving something spicy or tart.  Probably something with chicken, I thought.  Most definitely with a pasta or potato.  But no matter what I made, it just wasn’t right.

Until tonight.

I made The Pioneer Woman‘s Spicy Lemon Garlic Shrimp.  Let’s not even go to the place that acknowledges that shrimp are treyfah.  We’re ignoring that part.   I quartered the recipe since I was cooking for two.  I was thinking more about how hungry I was at the time than I was of the blog.  Consequently, this is the only picture I have of it.

20141227_235858Yeah, I get that that’s not very helpful.  It was YUMMY, though.  The butter/garlic/lemon that the shrimp cooked in made a wonderful sauce for linguine.

The poor husband, though.  He hates “working” for his dinner.  The shrimp was in the shell so he had to peel as he went.  I told him as I handed him his dinner, “Any complaints about having to peel the shrimp, I have Ree’s email address ready for you.”   I’m not sure if he has a crush on her or dinner was just that good.  He didn’t complain.  Much.

In other news, my tip of the day:

I have been very conscientious about using a vegetable peeler to peel off the lemon rind, minus the pith when I use lemons.  I put them in a bag in the freezer.  Yesterday I needed lemon zest but had no fresh lemons.  There was no way I was going to be able to chop the rinds up small enough to be considered “zest.”  I had a light bulb moment.  Since there wasn’t pith on the underside of the lemon rind slices, I just put a few in my spice grinder (ok, it’s a coffee grinder, but I use it exclusively for spices) and POOF!  Lemon zest.

Leave a Reply

